Globe India Trust

GLOBE India is registered as charitable trust with 10 founder trustees who are also the board members and represent major political parties in India. The board comprises of:

Bhubaneswar Bhubaneswar Kalita (President) is a of Parliament, Rajya Sabha from state of Assam. He was thrice elected to Rajya Sabha earlier in 1984, 1990 and 2008; Lok Sabha in 1998 and Member of Assam legislative Assembly in 2001. He is Lec-turer, Advocate, Political and Social Worker by profession and is member of Standing Committee on energy and served ear-lier in DRSC on External Affairs, Committee on Estimates, DRSC on Industry and additional member of Parliamentary Forum on Global Warming and Climate Change with special interest in the Forest & Plantation. He was Member and Vice-Chairman of Tea Board, India and Minister for Industry, Commerce, IT and Public Enterprises in the State Govern-ment of Assam. Besides, he addressed the UN General As-sembly twice as Indian Delegate. Kalita has been part of various delegations on environment and climate change including Indian Delegation to the G-8 (+5) Legislators Forum in connection with the Conference on Global Warming and Climate Change in 2008, 2010 and World Legislators Summit in 2012.

P.D. Rai (Secretary) is a member of the XV Lok Sabha from the state of Sikkim. Presently, he is the Chairman of the Lok Sabha Fel-lowships Committee and member of the Committee on Fi-nance; Committee on Ethics; Committee on Protocol; Con-sultative Committee on Human Resource Development; and Speaker’s Forum on Climate Change and Global Warming. He has served as the Sikkim Democratic Front’s General Sec retary and has worked at its various structural levels. He has previously also Chaired Sikkim Industrial Development and Investment Corporation. Until recently, he served as the Deputy Chairman of the State Planning Commission, Govern-ment of Sikkim. Rai has the distinction of being the first Member of Parliament with the dual and prestigious IIT and IIM degrees from Kanpur and Ahmedabad respectively. He is also a former Eisenhower Fellow (2002) from India. He was awarded the prestigious and selective Eisenhower Fellowship (USA) for his contribution to Sikkim’s economic and industrial growth. He was conferred the Distinguished Alumnus award by IIM Ahmedabad Ahmedabad in 2011. He is widely recognized as the man to have introduced information technology and sustainable eco-tourism to Sikkim.

Furthermore, he has contributed im-mensely to the building of NGOs and to a proactive Sik-kimese civil society

Rai is the convener of the Indian Mountain Initiative, an initia-tive to recognize the value of mountain regions. He initiated the first GLOBE (Global Legislators’ Organization for Bal-anced Environment) State Chapter of India in Sikkim which provides legislators and parliamentarians of the state a plat-form to deliberate on major global environmental challenges

Vivek Gupta (Treasurer) is Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha from the state of West Bengal as a member of All India Trinamool Con-gress (AITMC). He is journalist, writer and publisher by pro-fession and is Chairman and Group Editor of Sanmarg Pvt. Ltd. He is currently member of Standing Committee on In-dustry and Indian Institutes of Science Education and Re-search (IISERs) Council.

Anurag Singh Thakur (Vive-President)Mr Anurag Thakur is a third time Lok Sabha MP from the Hamirpur constituency in Himachal Pradesh. He is one of the youngest Parliamentarians in India today and has the distinction of receiving the Best Young Parliamentarian Award in 2011. Mr Thakur has been recognized as a “Young Global Leader” by the World Economic Forum and featured in the Financial Times ‘25 Indians to Watch’. He was rated amongst India’s Top 10 MP’s based on his Parliamentary performance and commitments to society at large.

In the political sphere he heads the BJP’s youth wing BJYM as its National President. A sports enthusiast, he leads different sports bodies in various capacities, including the Board of Control for Cricket in India as its Hon. Jt. Secretary, the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association as its President and the Indian Olympic Association as its Vice-President. He has spoken at various national and international forums on sustainability, environment and climate change. He has worked to make Himachal a Carbon Neutral state, initiated a polythene ban and encouraged other environment friendly projects

Kalikesh Narayan Deo (Board Member) is a member of the 15th Lok Sabha from Biju Janata Dal (BJD) representing Bolangir constituency in Odisha. He attended the Doon School, Dehradun and graduated in Economics from prestigious St. Stephen's College, Delhi Uni-versity. He spent his initial career working in investment banking and with the energy giant, Enron. He is currently a member of the Standing Committee on Petroleum and Natural Gas and was previously member of Committee on Commerce.

Deo has keen interest in environment, climate change and sus-tainability issues and follows UN negotiations closely. His devel-opmental focus remains primarily on livelihood and climate change issues. He also introduced Private Members Bill on Cli-mate Change in 2011 in the Parliament and supports the idea of India taking a lead by agreeing on emissions reduction targets.

Dr Sanjay Jaiswal (Board Member) is the second-time Lok Sabha MP from the State of Bihar. A medical practitioner by profession, he got elected to the 16th Lok Sabha from West Champaran constituency. Having keen interest in environment, forest and clean energy related issues, Dr Jaiswal has made several interventions on these issues at various forums, including Indian Parliament.

Vandana Chavan (Board Member) is elected to the Rajya Sabha as a Nationalist Congress Party of India (NCP) member from the state of Maha-rashtra. She is an advocate by profession, was thrice elected as Councilor to the Pune Municipal Corporation from 1992 - 2007 and was Mayor of the City of Pune in the year 1997-98. She is currently member of Member of Standing Committee on Water Resources and Parliamentary forum on Water Conservation and Management. Management. Chavan is passionate speaker on climate change and sustainable development issues and initiated plethora of ini-tiatives on Sustainable Habitat and Urbanization, Climate Change awareness and represented India at several international fora. Ms. Chavan is also a member of THE CLIMATE PROJECT – INDIA which has been initiated by the Nobel Laureate Al Gore, Former Vice President of the USA.


Founder Trustees

1.Mr. Prakash Javadekar
2.Mr. Bhubaneswar Kalita
3.Mr. Rajiv Pratap Rudy
4.Mr. P. D. Rai
5.Mr. Vivek Gupta
6.Mr. Kalikesh N. S. Deo
7.Mr. Jayant Chaudhary
8.Mr. L. Rajagopal
9.Mrs. Vandana Chavan
10.Mrs. Vasanthi Stanley